Home News Fixtures & Results Training Recruitment Hurling The Club Gallery Links Contact Us
Upcoming Events

Michael Cusack Hurling Club


UC Berkeley, Purdue or Indiana University

Gaelic Park
Irish Fest


In Ballintoy, Co. Antrim

McLoughlin Masonry
Addison, IL




March Madness Fundraiser

The Cusacks are selling March Madness squares. $20 donation, you keep the same numbers through the whole tournament. Every game pays out! Prizes go up in each round starting with $5, $10, $20, $25, $50, and $100 for the Championship. Over 60 chances to win! Please see any member of the Cusacks to purcahse a square, or e-mail cusackhurling@gmail.com. Thanks for your support.



Bowling for Cusacks

Final Four Fundraiser

Thank you to everyone who participated in the Final Four Fundraiser and congratulations to the winners.  It was a great way to start the 2010 season. 

2010 AGM

The MCHC held their Annual General Meeting on January 30th at Gaelic Park.  The 2009 season followed from a very successful inaugural 2008.  Expectations were high while the club won many accolades they were not able to bring home the prize that was so close in 2008. 

It was evident that the players had grown throughout the year.  Their fitness and ability progressed rapidly and the club's hard work earned them three cups throughout the year: Indianapolis Hibernian Invitational, Madison's Midwest Hurling Tournament, and the NACB All-American Cup.  But, the Junior C cup remains in foreign hands.  The MCHC lost to eventual winners, S.F. Rovers, in the quarter finals. 

With the 2009 business closed, the 2010 season kicked off.  The club is delighted to have Tommy Dolan Sr. as their honorary President.  Zack Hamilton renewed his position at the helm of the club.  As did Secretary Paul Reynolds, Treasurer Mike Maher, and PROs Matt Schwertfeger and Mark Taber.  New to the board are Vice Chair Sean Dolan, Asst. Secretary Pat Paison, Asst. Treasurer Matt Coffman, Registrar Stephen Crean, and PROs Tommy Dolan Jr. and Sean Flood.  Continuing their work with the players are Shay McShane and Paul Reynolds.  There is a great atmosphere within the club for the coming year.  The NACB Championships will be hosted in our own back yard at Chicago Gaelic Park. 


Cusack's are Midwest Hurling Tournament Champions

The Madison Hurling Club, in Madison, Wisconsin, hosted the Second Annual Midwest Hurling Tournament.  It was a very successful tournament all around and the Michael Cusack H.C. would like to thank the Madison Hurling Club for putting on such a great tournament.  The Cusack's defeated the Minneapolis Club Twin Cities Robert Emmets and then the Milwauke Hurling Club to claim the title. 


Cusacks are Hibernian Invitational Champions


March Madness Team Raffle
view flyer

$25 raffle ticket gives you the opportunity to participate in the Madness.  Purchase a ticket and we will draw the teams on selection Sunday - March 15th at Jack Desmond's Irish Pub.  Each team will be raffled, which means no stressing over a bracket as you can cheer for your team throughout the tournament.

Champion - $500
Runner-Up - $50

Final Four Teams (Not in the Championship Game) - $25

Participants will be notified by phone/email between March 15th and 16th.

To enter please contact the club at cusackhurling@gmail.com or talk to a club member

Benefiting the Michael Cusack Hurling Club


2009 Chicago South Side Irish St. Patrick's Day Parade

The Cusacks will be marching in the 31st Annual South Side Irish parade on Sunday March 15th.  The parade steps off at 12pm Noon at 103rd St. and Western Ave and ending at 115th St.  Everyone is highly encouraged to come out and support the Cusack's.


2009 Michael Cusack Hurling Club AGM

     The Michael Cuasck Hurling Club of Chicago, IL held their Annual General Meeting on January 25, 2009. Gaelic Park played host for the evening as the Cusacks put an end to the very successful 2008 season and officially opened 2009.

     The 2008 season was the inaugural year for the All American club. While the year saw many successes on and off the playing field, none was more prominent, yet bittersweet, as the hard fought loss in the Junior C final. Their performance was second to none and proved the capabilities of an All American hurling club. 2008 was ceremoniously laid to rest with an awards presentation. And the awards went to: Supporter of the Year, Patrick Cullinane; Player's Player of the Year, Mike Maher; Most Improved Player of the Year, Keith Cane; Coaches' Player of the Year, Matt Schwertfeger; Club Person of the Year, Peter Maher. 

     With the first stone laid in their wall of history, the MCHC officially began the 2009 season by electing a new board. The first order of business was to elect Harry Costelloe as Honorary President and Fr. Richard McGrath as Honorary Chaplin. This coming season promises to be the most successful to date as the Cusacks plan to bring the Cup home to Chicago! Congratulations to the new Board: Chairperson, Zack Hamilton; Vice-Chairperson, Peter Maher; Secretary, Paul Reynolds; Asst. Secretary, Lizzie O'Connor-Reynolds; Treasurers, Mike Maher and Donnacha O'Sullivan; Registrar, Brian Connolly; PROs, Matt Schwertfeger and Mark Taber; Youth Officers, Tommy Dolan and Sean Maloney. The 2009 Managers are Shay McShane and Paul Reynolds and will be accompanied by Selector Patrick Cullinane


Latest News

Practices Have Started

Mondays and Wednesdays
Gaelic Park


Full Team Meeting

Wednesday May 18
After Training
Gaelic Park




Michael Cusack Hurling Club  |  Chicago, IL  |  Copyright 2010